Restore pages from Trash

Quick update to the Pages overview screen. We’ve just introduced a Trash section, which makes it easier to restore accidentally deleted pages.

If you no longer need a page for some reason, just click Move to Trash from its Page > Page Settings dialog. If the page was more brilliant than you initially realized, you can easily restore it by going to the Pages overview and clicking on the new Trash section. Pages deleted within the last 30 days can be restored from here. You can only restore pages that you had edit rights to.

trash-pages-options-screenshot

Made some rather embarrassing mistake on that last page you deleted? Not to worry. Papyrs will permanently remove the page from the Trash if you click the X button icon on the right side in the Trash section (or automatically after 30 days).

trash-screenshot

More updates coming soon.

Widget updates

Two small widget updates today! First, a refresh of the design of the navigation widget, like navigation to other pages and categories:

page-navigation-screenshot

We’ve also made two adjustments to the Form Choice widget. You can add Form widgets to a page when creating an interactive online form for your co-workers to fill out. The Form Choice widget adds a form field with a list of options, like a dropdown menu. These new changes make it easier to manage a large list of options. The Add many options… function will now automatically filter out duplicates which helps when pasting options from somewhere else. We’ve also introduced a new Sort alphabetically function, which should save a lot of time compared to dragging around options in a long list.

form-choice-input-update

Hope you like it. More updates soon.

Save silently

People in your organization can subscribe to any of the pages they can access. When they are subscribed to a page, they will be notified when the page is updated (they’ll either receive an email notification straight away, or the update will be included in a daily digest summary email, if enabled).

It’s an easy way to keep track of pages you’re interested in. It’s not always useful to notify people of changes though, for example when you’re just correcting a typo.

Today we’re releasing a quick new feature you can use if you want to save minor changes which you think won’t be worth any notifications. Just click the arrow dropdown menu next to the Save button, and select Save silently:

save-silently

As before, people can of course also unsubscribe from a page, disable notifications altogether, or manually review changes of a page using the Page Versions feature.

New permission settings and group features

Today we’re launching an update which adds several new features and simplifies permission settings and creating new pages:

Simpler permissions

Page permissions have been simplified and reduced to three different access levels: no access, view, or edit. Other permission settings related to form record access have been moved into the form widgets, and additional options have been added.

Redesigned New Page and Page Settings dialog

We redesigned the dialog used to create new pages (or change settings of existing pages). It’s faster to load, hides options you usually don’t need, and makes it easier to select who has access. It also works much better in accounts with hundreds of users. Creates pages should be much simpler and faster now.

Redesigned Page Settings Dialog

Support for adding people to multiple groups

Before today’s update, people were member of one group. In many cases though people needed to be part of different groups, like Paris Office and Sales, or Houston HQ and R&D. You can now (re)assign people to multiple groups from the People Directory (click on a user and select Set Groups). Assigning people to multiple groups makes it easier to browse people in the directory, assign permissions, or have conversations with groups of people on the Activity Stream.

Template pages

The Create new Page dialog now also includes an option to select an existing template. When selecting a template, the new page will start out with the same permissions and content as the template page. This is similar to how the Copy Page feature works, but now makes this option available in a logical place: the dialog when creating a page. Pages can be made available as a template from the Page > Page Settings dialog.


Note for existing accounts:
The new features are now available to all new accounts. Unlike most new features though, these updates are not automatically enabled for existing accounts, as they might change existing permissions. Instead, we can manually enable these new features for your account by request.

Image Gallery in Activity Feed

Just a quick Monday-morning update. If you click on image thumbnails on the activity stream you’ll now get an Image Gallery.

gallery1

The Image Gallery looks something like this:

gallery2

The image gallery is touch-enabled and works on mobile devices. You can still download images by clicking on the filename at the bottom of each image or by right-clicking and choosing “save link as”. If you add a mix of documents and images as attachments to a comment, only the images will appear in the gallery, the other files will be available for download as before.